They Don’t Serve Breakfast at Tiffany’s?

Right up there with the movie When Harry Met Sally is Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I remember the first time I came to know Holly Golightly. I was in awe of her! (Actually I love all things Audrey Hepburn!!!) She seemed to be this totally together socialite, carefree who threw fabulous parties. Of course, I later found out she was just some of us or just me-confused about the course in life being taken, caught up in masking true feelings without a sense of belonging. I think the weirdest part of the whole movie was not that Holly was passing secrets for an inmate in Sing Sing but that she was married to Doc Golightly played by actor/dancer Buddy Ebsen from Barnaby Jones and Beverly Hillbilliesfame. What’s a girl to do?

I can’t wait to go inside!

I would like to say I read the book from which the movie was derived but my only experience with the story is with the DVD. Fred, played by George Peppard was messing around with the older married lady, Mrs. Emily Eustance Failenson aka 2E played by Patricia Neal but I so hoped he would end up with Holly Golightly! His character’s name was actually Paul Varjak but in true Holly Golightly style, she gave him a name she thought was more fitting. Rooming with Holly was ‘Cat’. A beautiful feline she found but didn’t want to be fuss with giving it an appropriate name.

After discussing the movie with a few friends who actually read the Truman Capote book, all I could say was that the movie was written in true Hollywood style. There shouldn’t have been any kiss at the end of the movie as Fred was supposed to be gay. I only wish the book could have been more accurately portrayed in the movie. Truman Capote was not keen with the way the movie ended either. I was surprised to learn that Capote originally selected his friend, Marilyn Monroe to play Holly but Paramount Pictures called the shots so Audrey was in. I’m going to put the book on my summer reading list as soon as I get through the Shades trilogy, Andy Cohen and Joan Rivers. Not until then can I can provide further criticism as I’m sure I will find more!

The jewelry store on Fifth Avenue brings another movie, Sweet Home Alabama to mind. I so thought my first visit to Tiffany & Company would be tremendous just like Reese Witherspoon’s character in the movie! When Melanie was swept off her feet by Andrew (Patrick Dempsey) it was simply mouthwatering! I imagined freshly shined finishes that sparkled in the light. I thought for sure I would enter Ms. Wilson and exit a Mrs. To Be.

Will all my dreams come true once I step inside?

Well things didn’t twinkle or shine and I exited with the same foreseeable last name as I had entered. I’m still with my beau who I love tremendously and I’ve come to realize that not all that glitters is gold, platinum or sterling silver for that matter!

32 responses »

  1. URL says:

    It is practically impossible to uncover knowledgeable males and girls during this subject, even so you sound like do you know what you are discussing! Thanks 282834

  2. Celi says:

    hey it was a good post thanks for posting, please keep postinghttp://www.advogadoemingles.com

  3. very good put up, i definitely love this web site, keep on it 800556

  4. More Help says:

    you use a great blog here! do you wish to have the invite posts in my small blog? 760586

  5. I like this post, enjoyed this one thanks for posting . 9230

  6. URL says:

    Some truly amazing content material on this internet internet site , thankyou for contribution. 126956

  7. I like you weblog (dsol, je suis francais, je parle mal anglais) 214

  8. squidoo.com says:

    very good post. Neer knew this, thanks for letting me know. 739905

  9. website says:

    Hey man, .This was an excellent page for such a hard subject to talk about. I look forward to reading many more great posts like these. Thanks 422605

  10. Rattling clean internet website , thanks for this post. 457988

  11. Hi there, just became aware of your weblog by means of Google, and located that it is actually informative. Im gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate should you continue this in future. Lots of folks will likely be benefited from your writing. Cheers! 58622

  12. read more says:

    This really is a very good topic to speak about. Sometimes I fav stuff like this on Redit. I dont feel this would be the top to submit though. Ill take a appear about your internet site though and submit something else. 505882

  13. Wow, awesome blog structure! How long have you been running a blog for? you made blogging look easy. The total look of your site is wonderful, let alone the content material! 725236

  14. I like your writing style genuinely loving this internet internet site . 164072

  15. I was reading some of your content material on this internet site and I feel this internet internet site is genuinely informative! Maintain putting up. 827272

  16. article says:

    I dont normally take a look at these kinds of websites (Im a pretty shy person) – but even though I was a bit shocked as I was reading, I was certainly a bit excited as nicely. Thanks for giving me a big smile for the day 108152

  17. A person essentially help to make seriously articles I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I surprised with the research you made to make this particular publish incredible. Fantastic job! 507809

  18. Will you care and attention essentially write-up most of the following in my webpage in essence your web site mention of this blog? 556842

  19. You got a really great site, Sword lily I observed it by means of yahoo. 12910

  20. extremely nice post, i really adore this web website, carry on it 677056

  21. Some truly quality blog posts on this web website , saved to my bookmarks . 584764

  22. Its really a nice and helpful piece of info. Im glad that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing. 411089

  23. I dont think Ive read anything like this before. So good to find somebody with some original thoughts on this subject. thank for starting this up. This website is something that is needed on the web, someone with a little originality. Good job for bringing something new to the internet! 107620

  24. I like this internet site its a master peace ! Glad I identified this on google . 39878

  25. Really fascinating topic , appreciate it for putting up. 411543

  26. Have read a couple of of the articles on your web site now, and I truly like your style of blogging. I added it to my favorites blog web site list and will probably be checking back soon. 632101

Leave a Reply

