What do the 07/21/2002 post 9/11 themed “Anchors Away” episode of Sex and the City and the 3/10/1993 “Conduct Unbecoming” episode of Law and Order have in common?  Fleet Week, NYC!!!!  This is when ships deployed in overseas operations from the U.S. Navy and U.S. Coast Guard invade one of our country’s great river cities.  This year’s celebrations was May 23-30 and what a spectacular week it was!  This year was more important than many as it marks the bicentennial of the war of 1812 and also pays tribute to Francis Scott Key’s ‘The Star Spangled Banner’.

Fleet Week 2012

Here they come!

Who’s who is the episode of Law and Order?  Of course there is Chris Noth, akaMr. Big, aka John James Preston, aka Mike Logan but there is also The Good Wife’s Julianna Margulies, aka Alicia Florrick, aka Lt. Ruth Mendoza.  Turns out she’s not so good in this episode of Law and Order as she was a bit of a party girl.  I get chills talking about this as while The Good Wife is set in Chicago, Ill, it’s actually filmed in NYC.  And no one can forget Jerry Orbach, aka Lennie Brisco, a true New York native and staple, may he rest in peace.

Fleet Week 2012 2

What a view!

As for the characters from Sex and the City, they each have their share of issues.  Samantha was on the outs with Richard, Miranda is struggling with motherhood, Charlotte thinks everyone will only have two great loves in their lives and Carrie wants to soak up all her favorite city has to offer.  Out of all the characters on Sex and the City, I could relate most with Samantha Jones as I was a bit too long in the tooth to be trotting around with the boys in white.  If I was single, I probably would be Carrie Bradshaw, messing around with a sailor young enough… Well, you get the point.  The guy she was crushing on, Daniel Sunjata had a recurring role on Law and Order: SVUas CSU technician Burt Trevor.  But I went for educational and research purposes.  I definitely plan to attend next year!

More about Fleet Week.  You could have been anywhere along the Hudson Wednesday morning as there wasn’t a bad seat in the house.  Ships aplenty, ships galore.  The size of those babies was jawdropping!  There were 17 tall ships and 10 warships entering the New York harbor coming from far and wide, we’re talking world-wide all moving and grooving along the Hudson River.  Until you see it you wouldn’t believe it.  Once the parade is over the ships divided themselves among three docking stations in Brooklyn, Manhattan and Staten Island.

Fleet Week 2

Just another day at Fleet Week!

So why Fleet Week?  For one our sea fairing servicemen can take a break and tour the city.  The public also has the chance to learn first-hand how military funds are used to equip these vessels and how our courageous servicemen operate them.  One would be amazed by these outstanding floating cities and the capabilities they offer.

NYC 2012

Joining the Crowd

Things to do during Fleet Week include:

  • Parade of ships
  • Stepping onto the ships for a tour
  • Air demonstrations
  • Community/Park events
  • Navy/Marine bands playing in Times Square
  • Marine Corps Day in Battery Park
  • A view of our men and women in white

Fleet week hasn’t been around as long as I thought.  New York’s celebration of the naval services began in 1984.  Other cities that host Fleet week are San Diego, San Francisco, Seattle, New Orleans and Charleston, S.C.

City

Year

Number of Ships

San Francisco 1908, 1st unofficial Fleet Week 16 Battleships; 14,000 Sailors
San Diego 1935, 1st official Fleet Week 114 warships, 48 battleships and 400 airplanes

My dad was a career Army man so besides being an American, I have a strong allegiance to those who serve our country.  I must also say I love a man in a uniform.  We’re talking Sailors, Marines and Coast Guardsmen. Even if the military isn’t your thing, seeing these enormous beauties floating along is truly remarkable.  For those interested in which ships invaded NYC this year check out the link to below.

http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/fleet-week-watch-parade-ships-sail-york-harbor-article-1.1081983.

From Ecuador

From Ecuador

A Few Terms I Learned

Flotilla: A fleet of ships

Berth:  A ship’s allotted place at a wharf or dock.

About ksimonewilson

I'm looking forward to sharing my New York experiences that have been highlighted on television and in movies.

12 responses »

  1. Malka Robbin says:

    I wish to get across my passion for your kindness for men and women that should have help with your area. Your personal commitment to passing the solution all over appears to be quite effective and have always enabled guys much like me to achieve their targets. Your invaluable guideline indicates a lot to me and somewhat more to my mates. Many thanks; from all of us.

  2. Woah this blog is fantastic i really like studying your posts. Stay up the great work! You realize, many persons are looking around for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  3. ssgt leslie says:

    thanks for sharing a good article about fleet week…lizzy [my service dog] and i salute you and your family.

  4. limuzyny to bardzo długie, pełne gracji i przepychu, ekskluzywne samochody, którymi ludzie zafascynowani są od lat. Niepowtarzalny klimat tych samochodów: wnętrze, projektowane przez światowej sławy stylistów, barek, kryształowe kieliszki, w których chłodzi się szampan, przyjemna muzyka- wszystko to sprawia, że każdy pasażer czuje się wspaniale i wyjątkowo. Splendoru dodaje szykownie ubrany szofer dystyngowanie otwierający drzwi swoim pasażerom. na życzenie wykonujemy przybranie limuzyny

  5. Hello There. I found your blog the usage of msn. This is a really smartly written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and come back to read extra of your helpful info. Thank you for the post. I will certainly return.

  6. kenVannyCer says:

    which an individual say them. You help it become entertaining and you simply still maintain to keep it smart. I can’t wait you just read far a lot more from an individual. This is a tremendous web-site. wow! Thanks with this tut. It was great! ^^, ya! good 1!
    http://www.antiagecreamreviews.com/luminess-air-review/
    Yeah, me very! I love accomplishing this! And My partner and i sometimes likewise send e-mails in order to future me within a year or so. It appeared to be just great for getting an e-mail coming from 16-years aged me after i turned 18 2 years ago. I experienced totally did not remember even giving it! I probably have one or two e-mails waiting to get sent today, but I’m confused. But it’s almos seeing that awesome to locate some note-to-self waiting in your personal/work e-mail. Hey good blog!! Man.. Beautiful.. Amazing.. I can bookmark your website and bring the rss feeds also… I am happy to find a great number of useful information here in the submit, we will need develop far more strategies with this regard, thanks with regard to sharing…… What is being conducted in the ME will not be our issue. You could be confusing lead to and influence. If there were not butted on the affairs these countries previously, we will not be the focus on of US terrorists now. Tuscon wasn’t a terrorist episode, but Fortification Hood was certainly. We will need to bring all of our troops household now, and allow people with the ME decide their own problems.

  7. You already know thus significantly on the subject of this subject, made me individually consider it from so many various angles. Its like women and men don’t seem to be fascinated unless it is one thing to accomplish with Girl gaga! Your personal stuffs great. Always take care of it up!

  8. URL says:

    I enjoy, lead to I found exactly what I used to be taking a look for. 813391

  9. After examine a couple of of the blog posts on your web site now, and I actually like your approach of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website record and can be checking again soon. Pls take a look at my website online as well and let me know what you think.

  10. I simply want to say I am just new to blogging and absolutely liked you’re web page. Almost certainly I’m likely to bookmark your website . You certainly have remarkable articles. Cheers for sharing your webpage.

  11. Useful post. And just to be on-topic with this post, I don’t know for you girls but for me hair is the most important factor for my look. My hair stilist on the saloon where I go gave me for about two months ago some kind of hair oil which makes my hair grow faster and thicker. I don’t like to spam this blog so, who wants to find more details can click on my name.Also my apologies for my bad english 🙂

Leave a Reply

